SHSHL Flyers Cup Wrap (3-10-22)

Check out the recaps for SHSHL teams in action in the Flyers Cup Tournament on Thursday. Pennsbury/Avon Grove photos provided courtesy of Tracy Valko. Check back for a gallery of photos. All SOS photo galleries for ICE HOCKEY can be viewed by clicking HERE.





(Ben Reese recaps all the action at the following link:



(Craig Ostroff recaps all of the action at the following link:



The Fords need just 29 seconds of overtime to determine a winner when Aidan Brawley scored the game-winner with a Nate Rabadam assist, bringing an end the Redskins’ upset bid in Flyers Cup play at Ice Line on Thursday.

Although they came up just short, the Redskins certainly showed their mettle, rallying from a 5-2 deficit to knot the score in the final period. Max Gallagher’s even strength goal 1:13 into the frame made it a 5-3 game, and then midway through the quarter Michael Knipple scored on a power play with assists from Gallagher and Daniel McColgan. McColgan’s power play goal 12:38 into the period with assists from Gallagher and Knipple knotted the score, setting the stage for OT.

Earlier, the two teams exchanged goals in the opening period with the Fords getting on the scoreboard first on a Quinn Carson power play goal. McColgan returned the favor, connecting on a power play with a Gallagher assist.

The Fords opened the second period with back-to-back goals by Ryan McGlade, and just seconds later, Nate Rabadam found the net for a goal that put the Fords on top 4-1. Ryan DeMatteo broke up the Fords’ run, scoring with assists from Knipple and Liam Mooney to make it a two-goal game only to watch McGlade complete his hat trick with a power play goal, using assists from Owen and Nate Rabadam, and the stage was set for the dramatic finish.

Neshaminy                   1-1-3-0   5

Haverford                     1-4-0-1   6

First period: 1. Quinn Carson H (Nate Rabadam/Ryan McGlade) 9:56; 2. Daniel McColgan N (Max Gallagher) 16:21.

Second period: 3. Ryan McGlade H (Gus Scuderi/Nate Rabadam) 0:33; 4. Ryan McGlade H (AJ Moleski/Aidenn Johnson) 5:32;  5. Nate Rabadam H (Gus Scuderi/Ben Katze) 5:47; 6. Ryan DeMatteo N (Michael Knipple/Liam Mooney) 14:10; 7. Ryan McGlade H (Owen Rabadam/Nate Rabadam) 15:07.

Third period: 8. Max Gallagher N, 1:13; 9. Michael Knipple N (Max Gallagher/Daniel McColgan) 7:41; 10. Daniel McColgan N (Max Gallagher/Michael Knipple).

Overtime 1: Aidan Brawley H (Nate Rabadam) 0:29.



The Falcons came up short in their battle with Avon Grove, falling behind 3-0 in the opening period and then spending the rest of the game trying to catch up.

Andrew Falkenstein turned a Reece Millman pass into a goal 12:28 into the second period to make a 3-1 game. Avon Grove’s Foster Wilkins scored a short-handed goal to open the third period before Christopher Sarver connected on a power play goal with assists from Falkenstein and Jake McCaw to make to a 4-2 game. That’s as close as the Falcons would get.

The Falcons held a 37-32 edge in shots with Avon Grove goalie Owen El-Attar turning away 35 of those to earn the win.

Avon Grove                   3-0-3   6

Pennsbury                    0-1-1   2

Shots: AG 32, Pennsbury 37. Saves: Owen El-Attar (AG) 35, Aaron McDaniel (P) 26.

First period: 1. Jordan Fabian AG, 2:44; 2. Caleb El-Attar AG (Johnny Pepe) 13:00; 3. Will Forman AG (Brendan Chandler) 15:13.

Second period: 4. Andrew Falkenstein P (Reece Millman) 12:28.

Third quarter: 5. Foster Wilkins AG (Jack Dembosky) 9:50; 6. Christopher Sarver P (Andrew Falkenstein/Jake McCaw) 10:22; 7. Caleb El-Attar AG, 14:12; 8. Ian D’Ambrosio AG (Caleb Harrison)




The Indians generated their share of opportunities and held a 30-20 advantage in shots, but they came up short the only place that mattered – on the scoreboard.

The loss brought an end to a special season for the Indians in their return to the SHSHL.

Council Rock North       0-0-0   0

Hershey                        2-1-2   5

Shots: CRN 30, Hershey 22. Saves: Ian Goldberg (CRN) 17, Jayden Noss (H) 30.

First period: 1. Toby Kauffman CRN (Brody Bess); 2. Tyler Lucas H (Brody Bess) 13:18.

Second period: 3. Tyler Treadway H (Toby Kauffman) 3:12.

Third period: 4. Tyler Lucas H (Brody Bess/Aaron Confer) 14:30; 5. Nicholas Colarossi H, 16:59.