SOL District Wrestling Preview: Welcome to the Show (2-19-20)




By Glenn Kaiser

Now that the dual season is over, it’s time to look ahead to what should be an outstanding individual postseason for many SOL wrestlers.  Before we look into the crystal ball, let’s review the dual season results in each SOL Conference.  It was all Abington in the American, as the Ghosts captured their first SOL American Conference title after coming over from the National.  It was always tough sledding there for the Ghosts with the Council Rocks, Neshaminy and Pennsbury the traditional powers of that conference.  The Ghosts not only went undefeated in league duals, they won the conference individual championship by 74 points over the nearest team in runner-up Upper Moreland with 117.5 points.


In the Continental, it was all Quakertown, all year long. They Panthers had a perfect 6-0 record in conference to go along with an overall record of 20-3 and the league individual team title.  Quakertown made it to the Giant Center to compete in the 2020 PIAA AAA Team Championships after placing second in the D1 Duals.  Although they could not get a win in Hershey, they proved they are back as a force with both individual and team talent. 


The National Conference champs, Council Rock South, defended its title from a year ago, despite mammoth challenges from CR North and Neshaminy.  Neshaminy captured the individual team title (165-points) with four champs in Eric Gross (113), Calvin Lederer (120), Zac Martin (138) and Gunnar Spain (170) along with runner-up’s Jason Pascucci (182) and Jack Toy (195).  South finished second with 160 pts. to retain the National championship with a 6-0 record in league duals and their placement (2nd) in the tourney.


The top four wrestlers in each “Super-Section” this weekend will advance to the Southeast Regional Championships at Souderton H.S. Friday, Feb. 29, and Saturday, March 1, 2020.  SOL teams will participate across three different tournaments in the East, North and South.  The SOL is ripe with potential in Chocolate Town, USA, as several wrestlers are ranked and expected to place high on the podium.  The possibility for multiple state champs out of the SOL is not unreachable with the likes of two wrestlers from CR North, Kyle Hauserman (Ranked #1 by PA Power) and Cam Robinson (#2) at 120 & 152 respectively.  Joining them in the nearly impossible quest will be Hatboro-Horsham’s A.J. Tamburrino (#3-152) and CR North’s Dillon Sheehy (#4-160).  Others to contend for top medals will include Luke Lucerne, CRN (#5-126) Kyle Waterman, CRS (#6-126), TJ England, Tennent (#7-132) and two at 220-pounds in Paolo DiSanto (#6) & Logan Flynn, H-H (#10).  Many others will be in contention for medals. Here is a preview of this weekend’s action.


Here is a look at the District I-East @ Quakertown (16 teams):  Abington, Bensalem, CB East, CB South, CB West, CR South, CR North, Truman, H-H, Neshaminy, North Penn, Pennridge, Pennsbury, Quakertown, Upper Moreland & Tennent.


106-pounds (top 4 wrestlers):  Teague McCormick (CBW), Cavan Kinne (CRS), Zach Borzio (Q-town) & Jake Werner (Abington)

113-Matthew McCaughey (AB), Todd McGann (QT), Eric Gross (Neshaminy) & Dylan Reinhard (NP)

120-Kyle Hauserman (CRN), Kyle Miller (QT), Calvin Lederer (Nesh) & Chris Cleland (CBW)

126-Kyle Waterman (CRS), Luke Lucerne (CRN), Vinny DeSpirito (QT) & Eddie Galang (NP)

132-T.J. England (WT), Zac Martin (Nesh), Kevin Baker (Bensalem) & Zack Lewis (QT)

138- Dom DeFalco (QT), Chris Walker (UM), William Morrow (NP) & Dominic Stoughton (CBS)

145-Sammy Hayes (CRN), Connor Eck (Bensalem), Cole Flanagan (CRS) & Patrick McCoy (QT)

152-Cam Robinson (CRN), A.J. Tamburrino (HH), Joel Martsinovsky (CRS) & Marcus Chernyshev (CBE)

160-Dillon Sheehy (CRN), Matt Colajezzi (CRS), Nick Castorina (Abington) & Jake Wood (HH)

170-Jarret Niedosik (NP), Gunnar Spain (Nesh), Dustin Pompei (QT) & Lucas Doyle (CRS)

182-Giani Gilch (CRS), Jason Pascucci (Nesh), CJ Grier (HH) & Nasir Thomas (UM)

195-Quinn Collins (CBE), Logan Green (Pennridge), Davis Lee (Pennsbury) & Carl DiGiorgio


220-Logan Flynn (HH), Danny Eckley (CBE), Elijah Slaughter (Pennsbury) & Ralph Martin (QT)

285-Max Harar (CRN), John Klewin (Bensalem), Jeremy McGuigan (QT) & Zack Madelinskas (Nesh)


Team Top 5 Teams-Council Rock North, Council Rock South, Quakertown, Neshaminy & Hatboro-Horsham


Wrestlers to advance to SE Regionals District I-South @ Interboro (16 Teams):  SOL teams-Cheltenham, Plymouth-Whitemarsh, Upper Dublin & Wissahickon


106-Dan Gorman (Upper Dublin) & Jake Williams (Plymouth-Whitemarsh)

113-Tommy Clayton (UD) & Ashton Wittenberg (P-W)

120-Colin Higgins (UD), D.J. Adriaanse (Wissahickon)

126-Austin Pendleton (UD) & Alex Prieston (Wiss)

132-Matt Fritz (Wiss)

138-Christian Smalley (Wiss)

145-Justin Bainbridge (P-W) & Ian Patterson (Cheltenham)

152-Jake Bainbridge (P-W)

160-Isaiah Stehman (Chelt)

170-Kevin Salmon (Wiss) & Matt Sadel (P-W)

182-Zach Gaffin (Chelt)

195-Ambrose Belton (P-W) & Daniel Babosa (Wiss)

220-Dan Keller (Wiss) & Paolo DiSanto (P-W)

285-Mike Miller (P-W)


Souderton will compete in the D1-North tourney at Pottstown H.S.  Souderton wrestlers will have to grind thru the Pioneer Athletic Conference to get back home to regionals.  It will be a tall task but Dylan Bach (120), Tyler Geiger (126) & Dan Villalba (182) will have a chance.


Wrestling starts at 5:30 pm Friday evening with first round action followed by quarterfinals.  Saturday morning wrestling begins at 9:30 am with consolations followed by semifinals.  The finals are slated for 4:00 pm.