SOL Wrestling: 2020 District 1 AAA EAST Homecooking at Quakertown





By Glenn Kaiser

Quakertown, PA-The host team of the 2020 D1 East Individual Wrestling Championships did it all over the weekend.  Starting on Friday night, the Panthers sent a statement as they were racking up wins.  The icing on the cake was Jeremy McGuigan’s pinning of Bensalem’s big man John Klewin in the last bout of the tournament, and the celebration was on for Q-town.  McGuigan was named the tournament’s outstanding wrestler.  Quakertown has established themselves as the premier school to host this event.  From the coaches’ room to the gym floor, Quakertown’s staff was accommodating, and that provided for an outstanding wrestling tournament with some of Pennsylvania’s best grapplers on display.


Quakertown won the team title, scoring 218 team points and edging mighty Council Rock South (206 pts.).  CR South had three champs to the Panthers one, but it was not enough for the Golden Hawks as Q-town advanced seven wrestlers to next weekend’s Southeast Regional Tournament at Souderton Area High School.  All in all, the Panthers placed 12 wrestlers in total.  Joining McGuigan will be runner-up’s Todd McGann (113), Kyle Miller (120), Zack Lewis (132), third place finisher’s Vinny DeSpirito (126) and Domenic DeFalco (138) as well as Zach Borzio who was fourth at 106-pounds.  CR North was third in the team standings with 171.5 points.


The Golden Hawks, always a team in title contention, will ride to Souderton with seven wrestlers as well.  Champions Cavan Kinne (106), Matt Colajezzi (160) and Giani Gilch (182), runners-up Kyle Waterman (126) and Lucas Doyle (182), and bronze medalists Cole Flanagan (145) and Joel Martsinovsky (152) will represent CR South at regionals.  Gilch’s win in the finals was his 100th career victory.  The Golden Hawks neighboring Council Rock North Indians crowned three champions as well with Kyle Hauserman (120), Luke Lucerne (126) and Cameron Robinson (152) all winning titles at their respective weight classes.  North also advanced seven wrestlers to regionals.  Finalist Anthony Burke, knocked off the #2 seed Jake Werner (Abington) in the quarterfinals at 106-pounds. He had a tremendous run to his title tilt, but dropped a hard fought 2-0 decision to CR South’s Kinne.  Sammy Hayes (145) and Dillon Sheehy (160) also finished second.  Sheehy was edged by the Golden Hawks Colajezzi 3-2.  CR North and South had three matches against one another in the finals.  Kyle Waterman (CRS) and Luke Lucerne (CRN) had a battle royale at 126-pounds.  Lucerne scored a reversal at the buzzer after a wild scramble to end the match, winning 8-7.  South won two out of the three head-to-head battles.


Cam Robinson (CRN) won over Hatboro-Horsham’s A.J. Tamburrino for the sixth time, these two should meet again in the regional finals at 152-pounds.  Abington’s Matthew McCaughey won the 113-pound title over Q-town’s Todd McGann (6-5), giving the Ghosts a district champ for the first time since head coach Dave Osei won his last district title in 2009.


Twelve SOL teams had finalists, and nine different schools had champs.  Neshaminy crowned two champs.  Zack Martin downed #1 and undefeated Tennent wrestler T.J. England in one 132-pound semifinal.  Martin dropped down to 132 from 138, and England moved up to 132 from 126 for the postseason.  The move paid off for Martin, the #4 seed, as he manhandled Zack Lewis (Q-town) in the finals, winning 9-4.  Gunnar Spain won the 170-pound title for the ‘Skins with his win over CR South’s Lucas Doyle, 5-2.  North Penn’s William Morrow had a tremendous tournament at 138, winning the title match 12-7 over Central Bucks South’s Dominic Stoughton.  Bensalem’s Connor Eck needed overtime to defeat CR South’s Sammy Hayes at 145, winning in the tiebreaker 2-1.  Big men Davis Lee (Pennsbury) and Dann Eckley (CB East) won titles at 195 and 220 respectively.  Lee was the king of a stacked weight class, downing Pennridge’s Logan Green 2-1 in the finals.  Eckley avenged an earlier title tilt loss (Wetzel Classic) to H-H’s Logan Flynn, winning 10-7.


The 2020 Southeast Regional tournament will honor several SOL wrestlers with the Hall of Fame ceremony Saturday night prior to finals.  All hail from Council Rock South, the 2020 Class to be inducted will include Austin Carter (state champion), Bill Rappo (state champion), Dillon Evans and Jimmy Vollrath (posthumously).



Team Standings

(1) Quakertown 218.0, (2) Council Rock South 206.0, (3) Council Rock North 171.5, (4) Neshaminy 156.0, (5) Central Bucks East 124.0, (6) Abington 115.5, (7) Pennsbury 111.0, (8) North Penn 97.0, (9) Bensalem 86.5, (10) Hatboro-Horsham 78.0, (11) Central Bucks West 74.5, (12) Harry S. Truman 53.5, (13) Upper Moreland 46.0, (14) Central Bucks South 34.5, (15) Pennridge 30.0, (16) William Tennent 26.0